The consortium of REACT project is formed by a group of organizations which will cover all the relevant areas:

  • ARQ will provide the REACT technology and coordination of the consortium.
  • UPV/EHU and ESTL as scientific research and innovation institutions will improve the REACT evolving the REACT technology in terms of SMA materials and tribology solutions.
  • STI, SSTL, AVS and ECE as final users will interface between the technology developers and the industrial/commercial requirements of the current European market. STI, SSTL, AVS and ECE will integrate the REACTs devices specially designed for their commercial area application, thus increasing the competitiveness of their products.


On 20th January 2015, the Kick-off meeting of the REACT project was held in Brussels, Belgium, at the REA facilities of the European Commission.

The meeting was celebrated under the chairmanship of the European Commission Project Officer, Traian Branza (TB), and with the participation of the delegates from all the project partners:

STI: Thomas Franck (TF) and Ignacio Martinez (IM)

AVS: Cristina Ortega (CO)

SSTL: Mark Ferris (MF) and Andrew Haslehurst (AH)

ESTL: Simon Griffin (SG) and Matthew Hampson (MH)

ECE: Vicente Gomez (VG) and Francisco Javier Rivas (FR)

UPV/EHU: José María San Juan (JS)

ARQ: Nestor Nava (NN), Francisco Gutierrez (FG) and Francisco Álvarez (FA)

The following commemorative picture was taken at the occasion of the event.